Following Councillor Michael Thierry’s decision to stand down, Councillors unanimously elected Councillor Tim Ward, the current Deputy Mayor, to replace him as Town Mayor for the remainder of the municipal year to the Annual Meeting in May 2017.

On being elected, Councillor Ward thanked all Councillors for the honour bestowed upon him.

Councillor Philip Day was appointed to the position of Deputy Town Mayor for the period to the Town Council’s Annual Meeting in May.