MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF THE RECREATION, LEISURE & OPEN SPACES COMMITTEE

Held on Wednesday 17th May 2023 at 7.10pm at Ringwood Gateway, The Furlong, Ringwood

PRESENT: Cllr Gareth DeBoos (ex-officio)

Cllr Mary DeBoos

Cllr Rae Frederick (ex-officio)

Cllr Janet Georgiou Cllr John Haywood Cllr Peter Kelleher Cllr James Swyer Cllr Glenys Turner Cllr Becci Windsor

IN ATTENDANCE: Chris Wilkins, Town Clerk

Nicki Vodden, Office Manager

ABSENT: Cllr Andy Briers

OS/6248

APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies had been received from Cllr Briers.

OS/6249

ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

In his absence, Cllr Briers was nominated as Chairman. There were no other nominations.

RESOLVED: That Cllr Briers be elected as Chairman of the Recreation, Leisure & Open Spaces Committee for the ensuing year.

In Cllr Briers absence, Cllr DeBoos (as Town Mayor) chaired the remainder of the meeting.

OS/6250

ELECTION OF VICE CHAIRMAN

Two Councillors were nominated for the position of Vice Chairman. A vote took place but this was a split decision.

RESOLVED: That appointment of a Councillor to the role of Vice Chairman be deferred to the next meeting of this Committee on 7th June.

ACTION C Wilkins

OS/6251

MEMBERSHIP OF SUB-COMMITTEES AND WORKING PARTIES

It was noted that Members of Sub-Committees and Working Parties will be appointed until the next elections in 2027.

RESOLVED: That the list of members appointed to Sub-Committees / Working Parties be

noted as follows:

RECREATION, LEISURE & OPEN SPACES	
Sub-Committee / Working Party	Membership
Carvers Working Party 7	Cllr Andy Briers Cllr Mary DeBoos Cllr Rae Frederick Cllr Janet Georgiou Cllr Peter Kelleher Cllr Becci Windsor
Events Management sub-committee (formed 5.1.22)4	Events Manager Cllr Mary DeBoos Cllr Rae Frederick Cllr John Haywood Cllr James Swyer Cllr Becci Windsor

There being no further business, the Chairman closed the meeting at 7.16pm.

Note: The text in the Action Boxes above does not form part of these minutes.

RECEIVED APPROVED 28th June 2023 7th June 2023

TOWN MAYOR COMMITTEE CHAIRMAN